MBRS - SCORE

Silva-Ortiz, Walter I.

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Program Director and Professor

E-mail: walter.silva@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Biological Sciences, Pharmacology

 

Ayala, Sylvette

Department: Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: sylvette.ayala@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Mitochondrial DNA repair in aging, Neurodegenerative Disorders, Autoimmune Diseases, Cancer

 

Baerga-Ortiz, Abel J.

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: abel.baerga@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Colorectal and Lung Cancer

 

Blagburn, Jonathan

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Researcher

E-mail: jonathan.blagburn@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nervous System

 

Chávez, Ligia

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Assistant Research Scientist

E-mail: ligia.chavez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Adolescent Mental Health, Behavioral Sciences

 

Duconge, Jorge

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: jorge.duconge@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Antiplatelet pro-drug, Gene Polymorphism of CYP2C19, Warfarin Genotyping

 

Dharmawardhane, Suranganie

Department: Department of Biochemistry

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: su.d@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular Targets of Soy Isoflavones in Breast Cancer Progression

 

Febo, Irma

Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: irma.febo2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: HIV/AIDS, Rapid HIV Home Test to Reduce HIV Risk MSM

 

Javadov, Sabzali A.

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: sabzali.javadov@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Mitochondrial Permeability Transition as a Target for Cardioprotection in Heart Failure

 

Jiménez-Rivera, Carlos A.

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: carlos.jimenez8@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Alpha Adrenoceptors, Cocaine Sensitization

 

Meléndez, Loyda M.

Department: Department of Microbiology and Medical Zoology

Position: Professor

E-mail: loyda.melendez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: HIV/AIDS, Targeting Monocyte/Macrophage Cathepsin B in HIV

 

Vera, Mildred

Department: MBRS-SCORE

Position: Professor

E-mail: mildred.vera@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: CBT for Latinos with Generalized Anxiety Disorder in the General Medical Sector

 

Vivas-Mejía, Pablo E.

Department: Department of Biochemistry

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: pablo.vivas@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cancer, Targeting c-MYC Overcomes Temsirolimus and Cisplatin Resistance Ovarian Cancer