You are here: Home / Research Management / Advisory Committees

Advisory Committees



RCMI Internal Advisory Committee (IAC)


An RCMI Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) has been organized to deal with programmatic issues, and to perform as a public forum through which the program reports to the academic community on its progress and challenges. The Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Principal Investigator and the Program Director. In addition, it helps review and determine support for proposals submitted to the pilot project and travel award initiatives.

In addition to the IAC members, a group of special advisors has been identified to assist in initiatives and activities related to special areas of interest such as technology transfer, grantmanship, institutional policies, and industry relations. These special advisors meet with IAC and External Advisory Committee members as required, especially when initiatives or activities related to specific topics are planned.

Composition of the Internal Advisory Committee

Internal Advisory Committee 2011-2013


Internal Advisory Committee 2013-2014


Ricardo González, Ph.D.
Acting Dean of Academic Affairs
UPR Medical Sciences Campus

Inés García, M.D.
Acting Dean, School of Medicine
UPR Medical Sciences Campus

Marcia R. Cruz Correa, M.D.
Principal Investigator
PRCTRC, UPR Medical Sciences Campus

Carlos Luciano, M.D.
PrincipaI Investigator
PRCTRC, UPR School of Medicine

Estela Estapé, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Health Professions
UPR Medical Sciences Campus

Steven Treistman, Ph.D.
Director, Institute of Neurobiology
UPR Medical Sciences Campus

Humberto Ortiz, Ph.D.
Director, High Performance Computing Facility
University of Puerto Rico

Amarilys Silva, M.D.
Director, Medical Affairs Puerto Rico
Eli Lilly

Iván Ríos, J.D.
Executive Director

Puerto Rico Trust for Science, Technology and

Carlos Tollinche, Ph.D.
Director, Scientific Affairs


José G. Conde-Santiago, M.D., M.P.H.
Center for Information Technology and
Telecommunications (CentIT2)
UPR Medical Sciences Campus


RCMI External Advisory Committee (EAC)

The External Advisory Committee (EAC) provides constructive evaluations on the progress of individual research activities, as well as on the overall direction and management of the Program. The Committee meets annually and submits written reports to the Principal Investigator and the Program Director after each visit. Members communicate via email, video and teleconference, and fax as needed throughout the funding period. The outstanding scientists who participate in this endeavor have proven invaluable to the success of the Program and its role in expanding biomedical research at the Medical Sciences Campus.

Composition of the External Advisory Committee 2011-2016

Susan Opava, Ph.D., Chairperson
Dean Emeritus for Research and Graduate Programs
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA

Stephen L. Hoffman, M.D., D.T.M.H., CAPT, MC, USN (RET)
Chairman Sanaria, Inc.
Rockville, MD

Rafael Irizarry, M.D.
Professor of Biostatistics,
Department of Biostatistics
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Patrick Emery-Le, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Neurobiology
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA

Theodore A. Hanss, Jr.
Chief Information Officer
University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Susan Weintraub, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Biochemistry
Director, Mass Spectrometry Laboratory
University of Texas Health Science Center
San Antonio, TX


Hurricane María Assistance



« March 2018 »

Web News Sept 2011

Our Monthly RCMI WebNews

Contact us!
Emma Fernández-Repollet,Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
RCMI Program
Room B621-A, 6th floor
Guillermo Arbona Building
Medical Sciences Campus
GPO Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
Voice (787) 763-9401
FAX (787) 758-5206