You are here: Home / Research Faculty / School of Medicine - Clinical Sciences

School of Medicine - Clinical Sciences

Santiago-Borrero, Pedro

 

Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Dean, Pediatric Hema-Onco Section Director and Professor

E-mail: pedro.santiago9@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cancer

Algaze, Antonio


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Adjunct Professor

E-mail: antonio.algaze1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Allende, Myriam


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: myriam.allende@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Diabetes

Altieri, Pablo


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: pablo.altieri@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cardiology

Aquino-Piñero, Edna E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: edna.aquino@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: MRSA, KPC, Transposon, B-lactamases, Antibiotic Resistance

Ayala, Sylvette

 

Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: sylvette.ayala@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Mitochondrial DNA repair in aging, Neurodegenerative Disorders, Autoimmune Diseases, Cancer

Baerga-Ortiz, Abel J.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: abel.baerga@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Long-chain omega-3 fatty acids, colorectal cancer, lung cancer

Báez-Bermejo, Adriana


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: adriana.baez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular Genetics of Head and Neck Cancer

Banerjee, Dipak K.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: ddipak.banerjee@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Glycobiology and Tumor Angiogenesis; Endothelial Cell Biology and Catecholamine Homeostasis

Barrios, Nilka


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: nilka.barrios@upr.edu

Area of Expertise:

Behra, Martine L.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: martine.behra@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Regeneration, Neuroepitelia, zebrafish, mutant, hair cell

Benabe-Rivera, Julio E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: julio.benabe@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Renal Dysfunction

Bertrán-Pasarell, Jorge


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: jbertran@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Biochemistry

Blagburn, Jonathan M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Researcher

E-mail: jonathan.blagburn@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nervous System

Blanco, Rosa E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: rosa.blanco@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nerve Regeneration, Immunocytochemistry

Bolaños, Benjamin


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: benjamin.bolanos@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Environment (Cryptococcus Neoformans) Fungus

Bonilla, Melvin Félix


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: melvin.bonilla1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Hypertension, obesity, children, end stage renal disease

Burke-Ramírez, Petra


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: petra.burke@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Headache, Migrane

Burgos-Calderon, Rafael


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: rafael.burgos2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nephrology

Cadilla-Vázquez, Carmen L.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: carmen.cadilla@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Biochemistry / Birth or congenital defects

Canino, Glorisa


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: glorisa.canino@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Pediatric Ashma Disparities / Hispanic Mental Health / Gene Infant Development / Depression / Ansiety

Cangiano, José L.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position:

E-mail: jose.cangiano@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nephrology

Carlo-Izquierdo, José R.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: jose.carlo@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neuromuscular Diseases (Neurons Disorders, Autoimmune Neuropathies)

Climent, Consuelo


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: consuelo.climent@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Pathology

Colón-De Marti, Luz


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: luz.colon4@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Child Psychiatry

Conde-Santiago, José G.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: jose.conde1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Research Tools Over High-Speed Networks

Corey, Susan C.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: susan.corey@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Expression of the Sodium Pump regulated in the Cell / Na pump expression and activity in drug abuse

Costas, Pablo


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: pablo.costas@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Gastroenterology

Crespo, María J.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: maria.crespo3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cell Culture, Congestive Heart Failure

Cruz-Burgos, Rosa E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail:

Area of Expertise: Obstetrics or Gynecology

De Andino, Richard M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: richard.martinez3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Dengue, Diabetes, Geriatrics

De Mello, Walmor C.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: walmor.de-mello@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Intracellular Signaling/Electrical Properties of the Failing Heart / Heart pharmacology: intercellular communication

De Jesús-Berríos, Yohanna


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: yohanna.de-jesus@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Pulmonary Medicine

Dharmawardhane, Suranganie


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: su.d@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Breast Cancer, RhoGTPases, Metastasis, Soy isoflavones, red wine polyphenols

Díaz, Ana M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: anamaria.diaz@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Allergy / Antibiotics

Díaz-Pérez, Clemente


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: clemente.diaz@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Pediatrics / AIDS

Díaz-Ríos, Manuel E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: manuel.diaz6@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Spinal Cord, mouse, locomotion, interneurons, motor systems

Dunbar, Donald C.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: donald.dunbar@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Biomechanic & Neural Control of Locomotion

Escobales, Nelson


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Director Physiology Dept. / Professor

E-mail: nelson.escobales@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Endothelial and Smooth Muscle Cell Function

Espino, Ana M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: ana.espino1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular Parasitology / F. Hepatico / S. Mansoni

Esquilín, Inés O.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: ines.esquilin@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Pediatrics

Facundo, América


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: america.facundo@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Health and Cultural Competence

Febo, Irma


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: irma.febo2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: AIDS

Fernández-Repollet, Emma


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor and RCMI Program Principal Investigator

E-mail: e.fernandez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Flow Cytometry, Insulin, Diabetes, Nanoparticles, Microinjections

García-García, Inés


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: ines.garcia@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neonatal Disorders, Neurology, Perinatal Disorders

García-Fragoso, Lourdes


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: lourdes.garcia1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Folate, homocysteine, MTHFR Mutations

Garcia-Palmieri, Mario


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor Emeritus

E-mail: mario.garcia2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise:

García-Castiñeiras, Sixto


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: sixto.garcia@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Biochemistry Cataracts

González-Keelan, Carmen I.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: carmen.gonzalez22@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Liver, GI, Immunopathology, Education

González-Sánchez, Juan A.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor/Chair Program Emergency Medicine

E-mail: juan.gonzalez30@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Clinical Research Bronchial Asthma, Coronary Syndromes, Stroke, Trauma

Gonzalez-Pijem, Lilliam


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: lilliam.gonzalez3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Diabetes

González, M. Rosario


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: MRGLEZ@pol.net

Area of Expertise: Behavior Pediatrics, Growth and Development

González-Ríos, María del Carmen


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Director of Genetics Section, Dept. of Pediatrics

E-mail: maria.gonzalez39@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Clinical Genetics

Gonzalez, Michelle


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: michelle.gonzalez8@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Infectious Diseases

González-Méndez, Ricardo


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: ricardo.gonzalez7@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Environmental Radiation, Macromolecules

Guerríios, Lourdes


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: lourdes.guerrios@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Prostate Cancer, Diabetes

Haddock, Lillian


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Emeritus Professor

E-mail: lilliam.haddock@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Endocrinology, Osteoporosis

Herreño-Sáez, Diógenes


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: deana.hallman@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cancer or Carcinogenesis / Chemical carcinogenesis, biomarkers, toxicology and risk assessment

Hillyer, George V.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: george.hillyer1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Parasitology

Inserni, Jaime


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: jaime.inserni@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurological Surgery

Jiménez-Vélez, Braulio D.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor and Toxicologist

E-mail: braulio.iimenez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular, Toxicology, particulate matter, xenobiotics, mechanisms

Jiménez-Rivera, Carlos A.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: carlos.jimenez8@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Role of Noradrenergic transmission in cocaine addition and the epilepsies

Jimenez-Velázquez, Ivonne Z.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: ivonne.jimenez1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Geriatrics

Joglar-Irizarry, Fernando


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: fernando.joglar@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Surgical Education, Trauma

Jorge-Rivera, Juan Carlos


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: juan.jorge@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neuroendocrinology / Behavioral Neurosciences / Affective Disorders

Kensler, Robert W.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: robert.kensler@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy / Hitoloty (Microanatomy), Cell Biology and Electron Microscopy

Kozek, Wieslaw J.

 

Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: wieslaw.kozek@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Area of Expertise: Electron Microscopy,  Filariasis, Endosymbiotic Wolbachia of Filariae, Symbiosis, Parasitic Zoonoses in Puerto Rico

Kraiselburd, Edmundo K.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: edmundo.kraiselburd@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: SIV Vaccines / Animal Diseases / HIV / Neural Infections

Kuffler, Damien


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: damien.kuffler@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Biomedical Research Resources / Cell Culture

Laguna-Figueroa, Reinaldo


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: reinaldo.laguna@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nuclear Medicine, Renal Function, Pediatric Oncology

López, Reynold


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: reynold.lopez1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cancer

Luciano, Carlos A.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: carlos.luciano1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: AIDS - Neuro

Lugo-Vicente, Humberto L.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: humberto.lugo@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neonatal Surgery, Hepatobiliary Surgery, Laparascopic Surgery

Lugo-Amador, Nannette M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: nannette.lugo@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cardiac Arrest, out-of-hospital/in-hospital, Hospital Disaser Preparedness

Martínez-Martínez, idalí


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: idali.martinez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Dengue Virus, West Nile Virus, DNA viruses, flaviviruses, cross-protection

Martínez, Karen G.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: karen.martinez2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Psychological factors in bronchial asthma, maternal depression

Martínez-Ferrer, Magaly


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: magaly.martinez1@upr.edu or mmartinez@cccupr.org

Area of Expertise: Inflammation, prostate cancer, phytochemicals, HPV, penile cancer

Marcos-Martínez, María J.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: maria.marcos@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Breast Cancer

Meléndez, Loyda M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: loyda.melendez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: HIV, macrophages, proteomics, cognitive impairment, placental macrophages, SELDI-TOF

Miller, Mark W.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: mark.miller@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neuroscience / Molecular Neurobiology

Mirabal, Brenda


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: brenda.mirabal@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Child and Youth Abuse and its Prevention

Miranda-Gonzalez, Jorge D.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: jorge.miranda3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Regeneration, trauma, spinal cord injury, estrogen, purinergic, Eph receptors

Mora-Piñero, Edna M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Dir. CBL / Associate Professor

E-mail: edna.mora2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Bone diseases

Orduña-Acúm, Elba


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: orduna@prtc.net

Area of Expertise:

Ortiz , Idith


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: idith.ortiz@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Blood Coagulation / Blood Diseases

Ortiz-Roque, José G.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: jose.ortiz45@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurological Conditions (Epilepsy) / Modulation of Neurotransmitter uptake and relaese in epilesy

Pérez, Nivia


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: nivia.perez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy

Pérez, Raúl


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: raul.perez6@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Retinopathy, Diabetic Retinopathy, Ethics Education

Rabell, Vilma M.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: vilma.rabell@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Endocrinology

Ramos, Edwardo


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: edwardo.ramos@upr.edu

Area of Expertise:

Reyes-Báez, Gloria E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: gloria.reyes1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Brain / Brain injury / Fetus (Fetal Maturation)

Rivera-Caragol, Enid


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: enid.rivera6@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Hematology

Rivera, Winna T.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor / Nutrition Graduate Program Coordinator

E-mail: winna.rivera@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Nutrition

Robledo-Burgos, Iraida E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: iraida.robledo@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: KPC, B-lactamases, HA-MRSA, CA-MRSA, Gram-Negative Bacilli

Rodríguez-Orengo, José F.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: jose.rodriguez139@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: AIDS, Hepatitis C

Rodríguez, Nuri


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: nuri.rodriguez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Bacterial Physiology

Rodríguez-Mercado, Rafael


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associcate Professor

E-mail: rafael.rodriguez18@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurology, Cerebrovascular Disorders

Rodríguez, Rebecca


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: rebecca.rodriguez5@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cancer

Romaguera-Agrait, Josefina E.


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail: josefina.romaguera@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Obstetrics or Gynecology

Roman, Judith


Department: Clinical Sciences

Position: Professor

E-mail:

Area of Expertise: Neurology

Navigation
Our YouTube Channel

YouTube logo

ZIKA INITIATIVE

RTRN

WebNews

Web News Sept 2011

Our monthly newsletter.
Contact us!
Emma Fernández-Repollet,Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
RCMI Program
Room 621-A, 6th floor
Guillermo Arbona Building
Medical Sciences Campus
GPO Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
Voice (787) 763-9401
FAX (787) 758-5206
UPR

Acknowledgement of Funding

This program is funded by RCMI grant G12 MD007600 (National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities) from the National Institutes of Health.  Please use this number to acknowledge support.

« March 2017 »
March
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
Upcoming Events
Complex cis-regulatory architecture and modularity are key features in adaptive radiations Mar 28, 2017 12:00 PM - 01:00 PM — 6th floor Amphitheater, UPR-MSC Main Building, UPR-Medical Sciences Campus
Upcoming events…
NIMHD