You are here: Home / Research Faculty / School of Medicine - Basic Sciences / Department of Physiology

Department of Physiology

Escobales, Nelson

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Director and Professor

E-mail: nelson.escobales@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Endothelial and Smooth Muscle Cell Function, Membrane Transport, and Molecular Mechanisms of Cardioprotection and Heart Failure

Crespo- Bellido, María J.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: maria.crespo3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Physiology and pharmacology related to heart failure.

Frontera-Roura, Walter R.

 

Department: Department of Physiology-Joint App., PM&R

Position:   Professor

E-mail: walter.frontera@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Exercise Physiology

Javadov, Sabzali A.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: sabzali.javadov@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of mitochondria-mediated cardiac dysfunction during ischemia/reperfusion and heart failure

Jiménez-Rivera, Carlos A.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: carlos.jimenez8@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Role of Noradrenergic transmission in cocaine addition and the epilepsies

Miranda-Gonzalez, Jorge D.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: jorge.miranda3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Regeneration, trauma, spinal cord injury, estrogen, purinergic, Eph receptors

Rivera-Brown, Anita

 

Department: Department of Physiology-Joint App., PM&R

Position:  Professor

E-mail: aniriver.brown@gmail.com

Area of Expertise: Exercise Physiology

Santacana, Guido E.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: guido.santacana1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Airway Smooth Muscle Physiology

Segarra-Marrero, Annabell C.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: annabell.segarra@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Brain development / Epilepcy / Neuroendocrinology / Imaging

Silva-Ortiz, Walter I.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: walter.silva@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cell Biology and  Pharmacology

Torres-Ramos, Carlos A.

 

Department: Department of Physiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: carlos.torres27@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular Genetics, DNA, Cancer

Acknowledgement of Funding

This program is funded by RCMI grant G12 MD007600 (National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities) from the National Institutes of Health.  Please use this number to acknowledge support.

« March 2017 »
March
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
NIMHD