Department of Physiology

Escobales Alicea, Nelson, Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Director and Professor

E-mail: nelson.escobales@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Endothelial and Smooth Muscle Cell Function, Membrane Transport, and Molecular Mechanisms of Cardioprotection and Heart Failure

 

Crespo- Bellido, María J., Ph.D.  

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: maria.crespo3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Physiology and pharmacology related to heart failure.

 

Javadov, Sabzali A., MD-Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: sabzali.javadov@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of mitochondria-mediated cardiac dysfunction during ischemia/reperfusion and heart failure

 

Jiménez-Rivera, Carlos A., Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: carlos.jimenez8@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Role of Noradrenergic Transmission in Cocaine Addiction and the Epilepsies

 

Miranda-González, Jorge D., Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: jorge.miranda3@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Regeneration, trauma, spinal cord injury, estrogen, purinergic, Eph receptors

 

Santacana-Vázquez, Guido E., Ph.D

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: guido.santacana1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Airway Smooth Muscle Physiology

 

Segarra-Marrero, Annabell C., Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: annabell.segarra@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Brain development / Epilepsy / Neuroendocrinology / Imaging

 

Silva-Ortíz, Walter I., Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: walter.silva@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cell Biology and  Pharmacology

 

Torres-Ramos, Carlos A., Ph.D.

Department: Physiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: carlos.torres27@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Molecular Genetics, DNA, Cancer

 

Rivera-Brown, Anita, Ph.D.

Department: Physiology-Joint App., PM&R

Position: Professor

E-mail: aniriver.brown@gmail.com

Area of Expertise: Exercise Physiology

 

Frontera-Roura, Walter R., MD-Ph.D.

Department: Physiology-Joint App., PM&R

Position: Professor

E-mail: walter.frontera@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Exercise Physiology