Anatomy and Neurobiology Department

Barreto-Estrada, Jennifer L., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: jennifer.barreto1@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurobiology, Embryology, Anatomy, CNS molecular/Cellular Changes after Exposure to Androgens during Puberty

Research type: Basic

 

Behra-Fishmeister, Martine L., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: martine.behra@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Developmental Genetics, Hair Cell Development and Regeneration in the Lateral Line of Zebrafish.

Research type: Basic

 

Blanco, Rosa E., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: rosa.blanco@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Histology, Neurobiology, Microscopy, Visual System Nerve Regeneration

Research type: Basic

 

Díaz-Ríos, Manuel E., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: manuel.diaz6@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy, Embryology, Spinal Cord Physiology, Locomotion, Interneurons, Motor systems, Invertebrate Neurophysiology

Research type: Basic

 

Dunbar-Pritchard, Donald C., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: donald.dunbar@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy, Biomechanics, Neural Control of Locomotion

Research type: Basic

 

Flores-Otero, Jacqueline, Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: jacqueline.flores@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Cell & Molecular Biology, G-protein Coupled Receptors, Retinoblastoma, Cancer Biology, Neurobiology, Microscopy.

Research type: Basic

 

Jorge-Rivera, Juan Carlos, Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: juan.jorge@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy, Embryology, Neuroendocrinology, Behavioral Neurosciences

Research type: Basic

 

Kensler, Robert W., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: robert.kensler@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Histology, Cell Biology, Electron Microscopy, Ultrastructure of Muscle Fibers

Research type: Basic

 

Meléndez-Aponte, Roberto I., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: roberto.melendez2@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurobiology of Addiction, Extracellular Glutamate Homeostasis, Glutamate Transporters, Gene Expression Profiling

Research type: Basic

 

Miller, Mark W., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Professor

E-mail: mark.miller@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurobiology, Central Pattern Generators, Invertebrate Neurophysiology

Research type: Basic

 

Pérez-Acevedo, Nivia L., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: nivia.perez@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy, Neurobiology, Embryology, Neuroendocrinology, Affective Disorders

Research type: Basic

 

Sierra Mercado, Demetrio, Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Assistant Professor

E-mail: demetrio.sierra@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Neurobiology, Anatomy, Effects of Traumatic Brain Injury on Memory Formation and Expression.

Research type: Basic

 

Sosa-Llorens, María A., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Director and Professor

E-mail: maria.sosa@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Anatomy, Neurobiology, Neuroethology, Neural Basis of Aggressive Behavior in Invertebrate Model Systems

Research type: Basic

 

Yudowski, Guillermo A., Ph.D.

Department: Anatomy and Neurobiology

Position: Associate Professor

E-mail: guillermo.yudowski@upr.edu

Area of Expertise: Microscopy, Cell & Molecular Biology, Biochemistry, Receptor Trafficking in Cell Membranes

Research type: Basic